How to Highlight with your Foundation

InΒ my post reviewing Charlotte Tilbury’s new Magic Foundation (if you missed it catch up here) I mentioned that sometimes I highlight using a lighter foundation. You guys seemed interested in some more detail so I decided to do a post on it. Also, I wanted to let you guys know that because of some stuff going on in my life for the next month or so, posts over here on the blog are going to be very infrequent. Be sure to keep up with what I am up to and what makeup I’m loving on Instagram.

Heres the technique, its really not advanced at all so don’t be worried. Instead of using a lighter colored concealer through the center of my face and then having two layers of cream products on my oiliest areas, I just use a foundation one shade too light all over my face. Then when I bronze I add depth and get an instant contoured look, no highlight step required. See the result of this on my face below.

IMG_6814
wearing Charlotte Tilbury Magic Foundation in 2 (a shade too light for me)

For a more natural look, which I have been enjoying more lately, use a foundation that matches your skin tone and skip the cream/lighter shade highlighter step entirely. For that technique on my face, see below.

IMG_6974
wearing NARS Velvet Matte Skin Tint in Finland (my shade)

I hope you guys enjoyed this quick post, if you have oily skin or just don’t like the feeling of lots of layers of product, this works really well for highlighting.

Let me know how you are doing in the comments and what your favorite contouring technique is! Have a good week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

