Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Major Volume Mascara

IMG_6716
Marc Jacobs Velvet Nior Major Volume Mascara Sample

I got a sample of this mascara back when it first launched, but with how rainy Seattle is I wasn’t able to give it a really good try until recently (its not waterproof), now that its really spring. Now you all know, I love a good volumizing mascara, and everyone has been talking about how great this one is, so I had high hopes.

IMG_6709
wearing Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Major Volume Mascara

Turns out, I half love, half hate this mascara (I’m very split on this one). On one of my eyes in the picture above you can see beautiful, amazing, volumized but seperated lashes. But, on the other eye, there is a clumpy mess that is just not cute (in my opinion, for everyday, this isn’t the runway people!). I have loved many a volumizing mascara, and yes, they do have a tendency to easily get clumpy, I know this. The Marc Jacobs Velvet Nior just goes clumpy really quickly for me, so I have to be very careful to use a little bit and keep my application light and feathered (not a lot of wiggle with the wand at the base of the lashes).

I found it lasted well, no smudging or smearing and its very black (very black is very important). I just can’t get past the clumpy thing. I don’t like the look of my lashes too often when I use this, and there are so many great volumizing mascaras that don’t clump. I don’t need the extra work or headache (you could of course separate the lashes with a lash comb if you really love this mascara, but again, why the extra work when there are amazing drugstore options out there!?).

I think this is a good mascara, just know that it can get clumpy and you have to be a bit careful with it. It is a beautiful deep black with good lasting power, and the hourglass wand was actually very easy to use. You can get this mascara at Sephora and online for $26 for the full sized tube.

The rundown: B-

One thought on “Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir Major Volume Mascara

Leave a comment