My Favorite Makeup Products of 2015

Hi guys! I know this took me a while, but I finally rounded up my 2015 makeup favorites. I’m trying not to repeat any from last year, so if I am still loving the same item in a category it won’t be on this list ( like the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer, check las years out here).

Foundation – Smashbox Studio Skin Foundation is my favorite from last year. I finished off a bottle of this last year (my new one is currently in my makeup bag). The only other foundation I have finished a bottle of is the Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet+, which I still adore. This foundation is hydrating, but long wearing. It doesn’t break up from oil. Long wear and comfortable wear, is a win in my book (no nasty dry patches or crepey dry skin).

IMG_5922
Smashbox Studio Skin Foundation

Powder – My favorite finishing powder of the year is the Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish Powder, which is beautifully finely milled. It sets the makeup with a rose-petal-velvet-soft finish. It perfects pores and controls oil. Its amazing. I’ve gone through three of these. I can’t stop.

IMG_5913
Charlotte Tilbury Airbrush Flawless Finish Powder

Bronzers – My top two (I couldn’t pick just one) are NARS Laguna and the Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow. Both of the bronzer shades have some sheen to them (I like the dimension and life it gives the skin). I use Laguna when I want more of a tan and the Charlotte Tilbury when I’m pale.

IMG_5917
top – NARS Laguna, bottom – Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow

Blush – Per usual I have a bunch of blushes (who can pick just one!?). This has been the year of the nude blush for me. Well, nude makeup really (but we’ll get to that with eyeshadow and lipstick too). I love the Charlotte Tilbury and Clinique Cheek Pop blushes. Both formulas are stellar and I would recommend any shade from both lines. I have just been all about the nude blush this year. I cannot recommend First Love, Nude Pop, and Sex on Fire enough if you love nude blushes.

IMG_5920
from left – Charlotte Tilbury First Love, Clinique Cheek Pop in Nude Pop, and Charlotte Tilbury Sex on Fire

Eyeshadows – I have been loving simple, clean eyeshadow looks this year. I already did a whole post on my deep love for Urban Decay Beware, but basically its a beautiful shade and great formula. I was surprised by how much I love the Urban Decay Gwen Stefani palette. I used this for two months straight after I got it. Its amazing, the formula of these shadows are great and the shades are perfect for everyday, nude eye looks. Charlotte Tilbury The Sophisticate is my favorite all matte palette from last year. I love the colors and the formula, matte looks aren’t boring to me, I love the definition you can get without it being over the top. The Giorgio Armani Eye Tints are amazing. The formula is easy to use, long wearing, and beautifully shimmery. My favorite shade is 11 Cold Copper, a stunning champagney taupe.

IMG_5909
from the bottom left clockwise – Urban Decay Beware, Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Palette, Charlotte Tilbury The Sophisticate, Giorgio Armani Eye Tint in 11

Mascara – My two favorite mascaras this year are at totally opposite ends of the expense scale, but they are both dramatic and volumizing. I love Maybelline Lash Sensational, I’ve gone through tubes of these in the last year. This gives great big voluminous lashes, which is my jam. Giorgio Armani Eyes to Kill is a new love, but man, this stuff is amazing! No wonder everyone has been talking about it. In a few swipes I get huge, amazing lashes. I swear, my lashes look fake. Its amazing, but really only if you like dramatic lashes. This is not for the faint of heart.

IMG_5923
top – Maybelline Lash Sensational, bottom – Giorgio Armani Eyes to Kill

Lipstick – I still love lip liner in a big way, but I’m still loving the same shades and formulas I did last year. So this year I’m going to talk about lipsticks (another real love). I spent all of my summer in NARS Rita (after becoming obsessed with 1920s lips), a beautiful true red. Marc Jacobs New Nudes formula is amazing, super comfortable and a nice medium pigment. Its easy to wear and easy to re-apply. Eat Cake is a beautiful muted pink that I have been wearing all the time. Charlotte Tilbury B*tch Perfect is the perfect nude shade in the perfect classic lipstick formula. Creamy, comfortable and pigmented these lipsticks (any color really) are just amazing.

IMG_5926
from the top – NARS Audacious Lipstick in Rita, Marc Jacobs New Nudes Eat Cake, Charlotte Tilbury B*tch Perfect
IMG_5928
swatches from the left – Charlotte Tilbury B*tch Perfect, Marc Jacobs New Nudes in Eat Cake, NARS Audacious Lipstick in Rita

Please let me know what you loved last year in the comments! I need a new shopping list and you always have the best recommendations.  Thank you guys so much for reading this blog and being makeup enabling friends this past year 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

