Charlotte Tilbury x Norman Parkinson Matte Revolution Lipsticks in 1975 Red and Miss Kensington

IMG_3260
Charlotte Tilbury x Norman Parkinson Lipsticks in 1975 Red and Miss Kensington

My other recommendation from the Charlotte Tilbury x Norman Parkinson collections (besides the highlighter, that I reviewed here) are the Matte Revolution lipsticks. I love the bright orange red 1975 Red and beautiful nude Miss Kensington, they are prefect summer shades.

IMG_3297
swatches from the top 1975 Red and Miss Kensington

I find the Matte Revolution formula really nice, its not super drying (but I did feel some light drying after about 4 hours of wear, the Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayons are less drying in my opinion). I love that these lasted longer on the lips because of the formula, I got a good 5 hours or so of wear. I love the square-ish shaped bullet, I found it made it easier to apply the bold 1975 Red (1975 Red is very pigmented). The shades have a matte but not like the sahara matte finish (I hope this makes sense, the pictures should help).

IMG_3540
wearing 1975 Red

1975 Red is such a great red! This one does look good and matte once it dries down, I love the warm red color. I don’t find it too orange, as in, it doesn’t make my teeth look yellow and still complements my neutral skin tone. Its a great summer shade and since I have been loving red lips lately, its been in heavy rotation.

IMG_3615
wearing Miss Kensington

Miss Kensington is a bit more semi-matte in finish and the color is sheerer out of the bullet than 1975 Red. This is actually something I prefer in nude shades, since it makes throwing on this lipstick easy throughout the day (you don’t have to worry too much about staying in the lines). This is more pale than I would usually wear on my skin tone, but somehow, it still looks really flattering. I find it a nude with a tiny hint of pink (barely any pink) that doesn’t wash you out or make you look dead. If this is a bit too nude for you, you can add in a lip liner or gloss to amp up the color (I love wearing this with Laura Mercier Potpourri liner to make it pinker). Β This shade settles more into my lip lines than 1975 Red does, but some gloss or lip balm (under the lipstick to keep the finish) should sort that out (I just wanted to show the effect of just the lipstick).

I really love these lipsticks, like all Charlotte Tilbury’s lipstick they have a light vanilla scent and are generally lovely. These will be staples in my lipstick rotation and, I’m looking forward to trying other shades from the Matte Revolution formula (the whole line is now available in the US through Nordstrom).

You can get these shades for a limited time at Nordstrom for $32 each.

The rundown: A- (a tiny bit drying, but better than most matte lipsticks)

One thought on “Charlotte Tilbury x Norman Parkinson Matte Revolution Lipsticks in 1975 Red and Miss Kensington

Leave a Reply

