NARS NARSissist Matte/Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette is in my Daily Rotation

IMG_3133
NARS NARSissist Matte/Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette

The NARSissist Matte/Shimmer palette is part of the NARS Fall 15′ collection. I have been using this for a few weeks now and I wanted to let you guys know what I think. I was drawn to it originally by the colors (love them!) and the large number of matte shades, since I am a huge matte shadow lover.

IMG_3306
Swatches of the NARSissist Matte/Shimmer Palette on my NC/NW20 Skin from the left: Nassau, Maya Bay, Ithaca, Dogon II, Mandchoure I, Bonifacio, Zagreb, Heraklion and liner Night Clubbing

I love the matte shades in this palette. I love that they have a gradation from cream Nassau to black Dogon II and, that the black is sheer. I don’t go for the traditional matte black smokey eye, for which a pigmented black is most useful. Instead I like to use blacks to add just a touch of intensity to the outer corner, a purpose that sheer blacks are better for (easier to blend). The almost denim blue Mandchoure I in the palette is really the only shade I don’t like. Its really just the color, I won’t ever wear it (maybe for a funny theme party or halloween?). The other shimmer shades in the palette are beautiful, I love the shimmery pinky-champagne Bonifacio and the shimmery brown Zagreb the most, they are stunning. The shimmery black Heraklion is more pigmented than the matte version, so its good for more dramatic nighttime looks. There is a Night Series eyeliner included in Night Clubbing which has gold shimmer/glitter in it. Its really pretty, and would be a nice base for a smokey eye (or for just a liner).

I really love this palette for everyday. It has beautiful colors and I honestly enjoy the formula of NARS shadows (I know not everyone does). This palette has been in heavy daily rotation and the only complaint I have about it is the two mid-tone matte shades, Maya Bay and Ithaca, can kick up some powder when you dip a brush into them (I hate that).

I read a lot of not so great reviews of this palette and honestly, I feel like I must have gotten lucky or something. I dunno, I just don’t see it. Most of the reviews cite poor blendability and choppy/rough lines. I honestly have tried using just the matte shadows on my eyes (with NARS Smudge Proof Primer, per usual) and they looked great! Excuse the bad liner in the picture below (I’m only human, I was having a bad liquid liner day, we all do), but I had to show you guys the blend. I used the matte cream all over the eye first (maybe a shadow beneath the other shades helped?) and then used the two matte shades next to it in my crease. The edges look good to me, I just used my trusty Wayne Goss 04 brush (which I always use). I guess, like with all shadows, I would suggest using a gradation of color as you go darker. For example, I used Maya Bay in my crease first (a lighter pink-beige) and then went in with a darker shade, Ithaca to deepen. I didn’t go straight in with the darkest shade, I built up to it.

IMG_3363
All Matte Eye Using the NARSissist Matte/Shimmer Palette, Nassau on the lid, Maya Bay all over the crease and Ithaca to add depth to the crease

I love this palette (though I will say I wish the blue shade was a green or purple, but thats a personal preference). I think its a great cool toned palette for the fall (which I am so excited for). You can get this palette at NARS counters, online and at Sephora for $65.

The rundown: A- (The minus is for the blue shadow and, really thats just mean, I purchased it knowing the blue shadow was there, I just need to suck it up.)

2 thoughts on “NARS NARSissist Matte/Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette is in my Daily Rotation

  1. I don’t know why Nars has had that horrible blue in so many palettes lately. Or bottle green. Really. I can’t get past that LOL.

    Like

  2. This seems like a really nice palette! Although I have to agree that blue is throwing me off… I guess I get what they were thinking because brown is the most common eye color and blue compliments brown eyes nicely but I think a purple would have been better for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

