Charlotte Tilbury Eyes to Mesmerise Cream Shadows Stun and Shimmer

IMG_2957
Charlotte Tilbury Eyes to Mesmerise from the left: Mona Lisa, Marie Antoinette and, Norma Jean

When I recently had the chance to visit the only Charlotte Tilbury counter in the US (its in LA at the Nordstrom at The Grove) I got a bit excited and grabbed some products. The top of my list to get were the Eyes to Mesmerise cream shadows. I am not a huge cream shadow fan but since I love everything Charlotte Tilbury, I wanted to give these a go.

I got three shades (I couldn’t help myself), Mona Lisa a medium-dark brown with purple undertones, Marie Antoinette is a stunning taupe and, Norma Jean a golden champagne. All the shades have shimmer and the texture of these is unlike anything else I have tried. They are almost like a wet mousse and, you need very little. I find these build and sheer out really well, so you can go ham and get very wet/sheeny lids or sheer them out and get a lovely shimmer over the lid. The colors are stunning, my favorite is actually Mona Lisa, which my swatch did not do justice to. It has gorgeous purple undertones with warm red shimmer, which are just tones I love using with my brown eyes. Plus it makes an easy, stunning summer smokey eye.

IMG_3001
Charlotte Tilbury Eyes to Mesmerise swatched from the left: Marie Antoinette, Norma Jean and, Mona Lisa

Now, these are beautiful (to be sure) and the formula is super fun to apply (the glass jars are tes chic). But, they also claim to be long lasting. Now, I have very oily eye lids, which is why I have never been a huge fan of cream shadows. Unfortunately these did not perform well in my crease. When I only apply them on my lid and use a primer beneath (NARS Smudge Proof all day everyday) they don’t crease. When I use these up into the crease (namely Mona Lisa, since its a great one shadow color for use all over the lid and in the crease) they crease in about 4 hours (with my trusty primer). The way I have found these work with no creasing is if I have a powder shadow in my crease first, and then apply these on the lid and blend them a bit into the crease. Or if I apply these only to the lid and then use a powder shadow in the crease (the key here is I really need a powder product in my crease). While this isn’t too bad (Norma Jean and Marie Antoinette I would only use on the lid anyway due to the shades) it just makes these cream shadows a bit less free and easy. I still love the finish and, I can’t get this kind of wet, chic, supermodel look with any other shadow (I’m loving this look by the way, its so unique).

I plan on using these loads, they are stunning and work beautifully as lid shades (I kind of want Bette now which is a gold, whoops). I find these apply well with a brush and with fingers (but of course I prefer using fingers, its just so much easier).

You can get these at Charlotte Tilbury online, at Nordstrom online and at Beautylish for $32 for 0.24 fl oz.

The rundown: A-

5 thoughts on “Charlotte Tilbury Eyes to Mesmerise Cream Shadows Stun and Shimmer

  1. I love these too, but I agree about the creasing. In my case it doesn’t matter so much since I have hooded eyes, so my crease is never exposed even when I look down. But it is disappointing! It hasn’t stopped me from wearing them though!!! I have Bette, Mona Lisa and Marie Antoinette. Oh, and Cleopatra; that one I only use on my lids and for parties, ie not so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

