Hourglass Modernist Eyeshadow Palette in Infinity

IMG_1453
Hourglass Modernist Palette in Infinity

I finally caved. After all the good and bad reviews about the Hourglass eyeshadow palettes (this product seems quite polarizing) and for a long time I just stayed away, but I got curious recently and grabbed one.

Now, I’m just going to cut to the chase, this palette is going back to Sephora. I don’t usually post about products I haven’t enjoyed here on the blog, I thought it was better to be silent than negative. But recently I have been enjoying posts and videos online that cover both likes and dislikes, I think its more informative for readers (so here we go). Don’t let my opinion sway yours if you have this palette and love it. Please keep loving it! I wish it worked for me. But thankfully we are all different and different things work for each of us.

But for me, this palette was a bust. Let me just say, its beautifully pigmented and blends nicely. Plus the palette is stunning visually. Here are my problems though.

First of all, these shadows are crazy powdery, worse than the Lorac Pro shadows (which drove me nuts). I get fall out like crazy when applying, and the palette gets super dirty and dusty. Thats the kind of stuff that drives me nuts since I like no fuss, no muss shadows, and these are not.

IMG_1540
Hourglass Infinity Palette Swatched on my NC/NW20 Skin

 

Second of all, I have very oily eyelids. I know I do. Because of that I use NARS Smudge Proof Shadow Base everyday (honestly, everyday). The NARS Smudge Proof Shadow Base has never let my shadows crease, smudge, or budge. No matter what shadow I use, that stuff wears like iron on my lids. These shadows, over the amazing NARS Smudge Proof Shadow Base (which always works for me), broke up and actually disappeared in my crease after four or five hours. I’m not talking about creasing here, I had bare patches on my eyes, no matter what shade in this palette I use. Every time I used this palette I had the same result. I just can’t have makeup that doesn’t last all day on me. Long lasting makeup is one of my musts, I look for it in every product I use.

I really wanted to love this, but between the fallout and the fact that these shadows disappear from my lids, this guy is going back. Please let me know if you have tried these and what your experience was, and also let me know if you are interested in reviews on products I don’t necessarily enjoy.

You can get this palette at Sephora, Hourglass and online for $58 (and for that price, come on now).

The rundown: D (I really love Hourglass products though! Grab the blush, bronzer, setting powder, or brow pencil for some really great products.)

 

6 thoughts on “Hourglass Modernist Eyeshadow Palette in Infinity

  1. Its such a beautiful palette visually, such a shame its not great! I have heard a lot of negative reviews on this one especially considering the fall-out it has, you would expect a lot more from a pretty expensive product!

    Like

  2. I knew as soon as I saw the product that it would b a negative review lol. For some reason it has stuck w me that u don’t like fall out. And since then I can’t deal w it much either. Whenever I think of your blog I think of the hilarious (to me) review u did on the Lorac Pros. I can’t use it to this day w out thinking FALLOUT n thinking of u n your blog. So strange but I definitely think ur opinion rubbing off on me has upped my shadow game!

    Like

    1. Haha! I’m such a snob about shadows sometimes, there are just such great formulas on the market it’s unfortunate this didn’t work for me. Thank you so much! I hope your shadow game only gets stronger.

      Like

Leave a Reply

