Anastasia Beverly Hills Eye Shadows Are Creamy and Rich

IMG_1026
Anastasia Beverly Hills Shadows from the Top Left Clockwise – Cream, Fawn, Chai, Topaz

I recently stumbled across some Anastasia Beverly Hills (ABH) shadows in person and was able to swatch some. I know I prefer to touch and play with shadows before I purchase them, and these shadows aren’t the most accessible (at least in my experience) so its taken me a while to give these a try.

I wanted to try some, so I made a 4 pan palette with some very me shades (aka they are all brown). I really love the shades in the ABH line, there are some really beautiful shadow colors and finishes. I got two ultra-mattes and two satin finish shadows, but the titanium formula swatched beautifully in store, they just didn’t have the shades I wanted in stock. Cream is a, well, matte cream. Fawn is a nice matte warm mid-tone brown. Topaz is a beautiful shimmery bronze (great all over the lid color) and Chai is a dark brown with gold shimmer (beautiful for the outer corner).

IMG_1147
Swatches From the Left – Cream, Fawn, Topaz, Chai

 

These shadows are almost cream in texture, they are very thick and smooth to the touch. I find I don’t get fall out when I use them (I’m guessing thats due to how creamy and almost dense the formula is) and I get all day wear without creasing (when used with the NARS Smudge Proof Shadow Base). All the shades I have are beautifully pigmented except Cream which is just okay, but its a cream color so it can be hard to get those very pigmented and it packs on itself quite well so its easy to build it up. I find these also blend nicely, not as impressive as the Charlotte Tilbury shadows, but these are also significantly cheaper.

I have enjoyed these shadows, they are really only a small sampling of all the permanent shadows ABH has, but I like the shades and these perform well. If you are going to try these out I would recommend ordering a palette (they do an 8 pan and 4 pan build-your-own palette) since you get them at a better price. Unfortunately, the only place I know to get these are at the ABH website where you can get these shadows for $12 each, $40 for a 4 pan palette, and $70 for a 8 pan palette.

The rundown: B+

 

Leave a Reply

