My Favorite Long Lasting Lipstick Tip – Line, Apply, Blot, and Reapply

IMG_7409
NARS Audacious Lipstick in Anita

I am always looking to extend the wear of my lip products (its one of the reasons I love lip liner). My favorite way to extend the wear of a lipstick just takes four easy steps.

1. (optional) Line your lips and fill in the whole lip. This can really give your lipstick a good base and define the shape of your lips (or if you’re me, its a chance to overdraw my top lip).

2. Apply lipstick from the bullet. I am a firm lover of using a lipstick bullet to apply, but apply how you like (I find applying from the bullet gets the best amount of product on and keeps the lip line from being too stark and harsh, but thats just my preference). I coat the lips and then do that smush together business to really rub the product into my lips.

3. Blot. I use a tissue and press it onto my lips to remove extra product. Don’t just do this once, keep folding the tissue and blot till the lipstick is matted down.

4. Reapply. Now reapply the lipstick from the bullet, smush, and go about your day.

IMG_9883
wearing Bite Beauty Butter Cream Lipstick in Heather

What tricks do you use to prolong he wear of your lipstick? I used this trick this past weekend with NARS Anse Soleil lip liner and MAC Crosswires lipstick. My bold pinky-coral lip lasted through brunch and shopping without smearing or fading. If you try this tip, please let me know! I hope it works as well for you as it does for me.

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Long Lasting Lipstick Tip – Line, Apply, Blot, and Reapply

  1. I agree with you on the lip liner, I usually apply it all over my lips followed by a lipstick, then blotting and I am done. I need to try adding that last step and see how that works!

    Like

  2. Lovely!! I actually seldom use lipliner with lipstick; more often with gloss. I don’t like the way the underlying lipliner changes the lipstick colour, no matter how subtle the effect is. I’ve been using Mac’s Prep and Prime Lip and it also helps prolong lipstick wear!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

