The Makeup Shakeup for Spring 2015 – The Nude Trend

IMG_9592
the shadows

This Spring one trend is nude/natural makeup (or at least the trend I am most looking forward to). Usually Spring is all about pastels (and they are still here this season, don’t get me wrong) but nude collections are popping up as well. I have to say, I much prefer the look of Spring nudes and neutrals, it flattering and refreshing (plus it doesn’t make me look like I’m 8 years old like pastels tend to, big plus).

I have been changing out the products I have been using to suit this trend, and with the weather here in Philadelphia, PA finally above freezing, I’m feeling the Spring fling. I am enjoying nude shadows (per usual) but actually even more simple (like just using the new NARS duo in  St-Paul-De-Vence). Think all matte eyes (like the Tarte Taretelette), or blush tones (like the NARS Dual Intensity Shadow in  Eurpoa) with just a brown in the crease. Super simple, clean, and pretty. Pair that eye with a classic black winged liner and you get something flirty and girly, my version of Spring makeup.

IMG_9599
the blushes

I am always reaching for nude blushes, but my favorites are Clinique Cheek Pop in Ginger  Pop (Who else saw there are new shades!? I’m freaking out), Charlotte Tilbury Sex on Fire (my one true love), and NARS Deep Throat (an oldie and a goodie). Make sure you pick a blush that adds some warmth and color (Charlotte Tilbury First Love is also great for this) but doesn’t deposit too much color. Think bronzey/plummy. It is really beautiful and gives a sculpted look to the cheeks. Its sophisticated.

IMG_9602
the lips

For lips you can use a tint of pink (like in my beloved Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector in 01) or just go from a nice nude like the Charlotte Tilbury lipstick in Bitch Perfect. Use any finish your heart desires, from Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon and lipliners (my favorites are MAC Boldly Bare and Charlotte Tilbury Pillow Talk)  to glosses. I love a good nude lip (as some of you may know) it makes lips appear fuller, which I am all about.

This trend really lets you play with finishes since the colors are all muted. Go for metallic lids with glossy lips (Break the rules! Have fun!), or matte shadows and matte lips. You can even mix and match (this is actually a more wearable combination, but I like having fun with finishes), while keeping the blush nude to balance it all out and add some structure to the look.

I am really enjoying this trend, what about you guys? Do you like it? Hate it? Do you have any products you love using for this kind of a look?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Makeup Shakeup for Spring 2015 – The Nude Trend

Leave a Reply

