Updated Morning Skincare Routine – February 2015

IMG_8156
the lineup

I have changed up my skincare lately and since I’ve been doing this routine for about two months now, I wanted to let you guys know about it. I’m starting with my morning skincare routine, but over the course of this week you’ll see my whole routine with some key products highlighted.

I know color cosmetics (like blush, eyeshadow and, foundation,Β my three favorite types of color cosmetics) are more fun, but your skincare is the base for all that makeup. Without good skin, makeup becomes a struggle. Plus, after you take your makeup off your skin is what you have left. For me, good skin is more important than makeup, because its what you take with you your whole life. There will be many tubes of foundation, but you only have one face. Β Don’t get me wrong, my skin is far from perfect (dang you acne) but keeping it smooth and hydrated has a huge effect on how my makeup looks (especially my foundation, which you guys have complemented me on before, thank you for being so sweet :-).

I have oily, acne prone skin (setting the stage here). In the morning I like to use a moisturizing but effective cream cleanser, I love the Shiseido Ibuki Purifying Cleanser which has some scrubs in it too (I am a big lover of exfoliation). Then I use a moisturizing, gentle toner (my beloved) Neutrogena Alcohol Free Toner. My daily serum is the Ole Henriksen Truth Serum which is vitamin c based and helps with my hyper pigmentation. My eye cream of the moment is the Algenist Complete Eye Renewal Balm (this was a deluxe sample but I am really enjoying it). My moisturizer is one I have mentioned before, the Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation, which is just amazing. It preps the skin for makeup beautifully and hydrates without feeling heavy (plus it also helps with hyper pigmentation).

My morning routine is geared towards getting my skin ready for makeup and gently caring for my acne prone skin.

What about you? What do you use in your morning skincare routine? Do you feel the same way I do about skincare (aka thats it isΒ so important)?

3 thoughts on “Updated Morning Skincare Routine – February 2015

Leave a Reply

