Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water Hydrates and Sets

IMG_7887
Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water

I was recently browsing in Sephora  and I saw this new player in the primer/setting spray game. I figured trying something new would be fun (I am a big lover of the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray), and let me tell you, this stuff doesn’t disappoint.

I mostly love using it before I apply my foundation, it really helps to thin out any high coverage formula and add some hydration (it works really well with NARS All Day Luminous, Laura Mercier Silk Creme, and Becca Ultimate Coverage to name a few). Since its a water based spray, you don’t end up feeling like you have layers and layers of product on your face. Its so light and hydrating (and not in a bad way, I have oily skin and this doesn’t make me oilier or slippery-skinned, think plumping).

I do find that it adds some wear time to my makeup, not as much as the Hourglass Veil Primer or the Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray, but it helps, maybe an hour extra wear time (depending on weather and my skin that day).

I think the really nice quality to this spray is that it really feels refreshing and soothing on. It has a light scent that doesn’t linger (it doesn’t bother me) and the spray is very fine and even. Its really just so nice to use and it makes my foundation, concealer, and powder all sit more beautifully on the skin. I also like spraying it after I have applied all my makeup and it takes away that powdery look.

I think because its water based with no silicone, alcohol, or oil I feel good about using it on my skin. I know it doesn’t have anything in there that will clog my pores or irritate my skin (like many primers do). It really is beautiful on, and it keeps makeup looking fresh.

I would recommend giving this a try if you are in the market, I really enjoy it. You can get this soothing Primer Water for $32 online and at Sephora.

The rundown: A

 

One thought on “Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water Hydrates and Sets

Leave a Reply

