Real Techniques Bold Metals Brushes are Pretty and Functional

IMG_5744
Real Techniques Bol Metals 100, 200, and 300 Brushes

 

I am not much of a budget brushes girl, if you’ve been around for a while you know my brushes of choice are the Wayne Goss brushes (which are just amazing). I tend to prefer softer bristles since I have a lot of acne. That makes sense, I promise because, when I apply powders over my foundation/concealer I don’t want anything to move around and uncover an unsightly spot. This can be a real pain when I have spots on my cheeks (which is very frequent) or where I apply my bronzer. Thats just a reference since my skin troubles heavily influence if I like a brush or not.

I love the 100 brush (gold) from this collection. Its really soft and pretty flat. I love flat powder brushes sinceI press my powder in to set foundation and concealer. Since it is flat this isn’t a great option for buffing in powder foundation though.  There are plenty of other flat powder brushes but this one is soft and it washes clean so easily. I would just say that this one picks up quite a lot of product, so I usually either dust off on the back of my hand first or am careful of where I first touch the brush to my face.

Due to my spot issue I make sure to use very soft brushes that wont move the liquids under my blush. The 300 tapered blush brush (rose gold), while very soft, is very dense. It means that while I love the size and shape of this blush brush, if I have any spots on my cheeks this brush will pull the concealer and foundation off them. Its not a big deal if you have great skin, but it is kind of a trial for me.  Its a good brush, its just not for me. Again, this picks up a lot of color, so I dab off on my hand before I get to my face.

The 200 brush (silver) is a really nice flat shader brush that I like to use for all over lid colors or under the brow. Its also great for cream bases or a cream shadow. This is soft and easy to clean like the 100 and 200. I can’t really fault this, it isn’t really a brush for blending but it doesn’t seem like its supposed to be.

I would recommend the 100 and 200 brushes. They are soft and easy to clean, I would just caution that they pick up a lot of product so be careful. The 300 brush I would really only recommend for people who don’t get spots on their cheeks. The 300 blends well and is a great size and shape its just too dense for me.

I really like these brushes, sorry for the crazy long post (I do love brushes). I think these feel great in the hand, they are well weighted. I also think they are really pretty and I didn’t loose a single hair while I washed or used these. I don’t find them very expensive, but my scale for brushes is skewed on the luxury side. I haven’t tried the core Real Techniques line but now I am quite tempted.

You can get these brushes at Ulta, online or at Real Techniques online. The 100 brush is $26, the 200 brush is $16 and the 300 brush is $24.

The rundown: B+

 

 

Leave a Reply

