Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette is the Chocolatiest of Them All

IMG_6690
Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar Palette

I told myself I didn’t need this, I mean lets be honest, how many neutral eyeshadow palettes does one girl need!? Apparently one more. I love the original Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette and once I swatched this one in store, I needed it (clearly need here is literal).

IMG_6695
the top row from the left ::: Licorice, Coconut Creme, Nougat, Truffled, Hot Fudge

The colors are very warm in the palette, but there is a corner of cooler tones in the bottom left of the palette. I find this palette is a bit less pigmented than the original. But the shadows build really nicely so its not a lot of work to get the pigment you are looking for. With a good primer (NARS has the best one) these last all day and blend beautifully. They are creamy and I didn’t find them powdery. I heard around the beauty blogger block that they are powdery which, I hate, but I haven’t had any problems.

IMG_6700
Β the middle row from the left ::: Cocoa Chili, Pink Sugar, Puddin’, Blueberry Swirl, Peanut Butter, Frosting

There are a few shades in here that I really don’t see myself wearing, which is a shame. Specifically Pink Sugar and Blueberry Swirl. They are just not my jam. Pink Sugar is mostly glitter, and I am not a glitter person, but if you are you can layer this over a good glitter glue to amp up any look you create with this palette which, is nifty. Blueberry Swirl is just not my kind of blue, I have been scarred growing up in an era of the Drew Carrey Show. With horrors of Mimi style makeup, I just can’t. At best I would use this as a color on the lower lash line. Maybe.

IMG_6704
the bottom row from the left ::: Rum Raisin, Mousse, Caramel, Bon Bon, Butter Pecan

I love that this palette (more than the original Chocolate Bar, at least in my opinion) has more lid shades in light tones. I find the original Chocolate Bar only has one or two shadows that are light while it has great options for pretty brown smokey eyes, but the Semi Sweet has some great light shimmers for lid colors. I also find the Semi Sweet smells much more strongly of chocolate. Even during the day after I’ve applied I can smell the chocolate. Its a bit much, but since it smells good its not that big a problem.

IMG_6458
the look ::: Coconut Creme under the brow, Rum Raisin on the lid, Mousse in the crease and Cocoa Chili in the outer corner

I have been really enjoying this palette. Its a good range of shades that work for everyday and theΒ formula is easy to work with. If you are itching for a new neutral palette, this is a good one. It works.

You can get this palette at Sephora, Ulta, and online for $49.

The rundown: B+ (pigment guys….)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

