2014 Beauty Favorites

Okay guys get ready, this is gonna be a long one. Hope you love it! Be sure to let me know in the comments what your favorites of this year were. If you click on the product hyperlink it will take you to a more in-depth review or post the product was used in. In case you want some more detail on any of these products.

Primer-

IMG_7915
Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer

I use the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer every day. Its great for oily skin and just creates the perfect base. Its one of the only products where I see a noticeable addition in longevity to my makeup. It works, I love it.

Foundation-

IMG_4705
Estee Lauder Double Wear Light

It took me a bit to warm up to Estee Lauder Double Wear Light but now I absolutely love it. If you have oily skin this is the longest lasting foundation and it never breaks down from your nasty oil. Its amazing. Good medium/light coverage with a nice lightweight feel on the skin. Its a winner.

Concealer-

IMG_6362
NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer

My go-to for everything concealer this year has been the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer. Its works under the eyes, on redness, on spots on everything. Its such a fabulous multitasker. I’ve been through a few tubes of this, its perfect for travel since its a one product does all deal.

Setting Powder-

IMG_3855
Hourglass Ambient Lighting Power – Diffused Light

 

This was a hard toss-up between the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder and the NARS Light Reflecting. Both are amazing but the slight yellow in Diffused Light brought this one ahead. The slight addition of yellow tones down my redness (acne prone what-what!).

Powder Foundation-

IMG_3734
Laura Mercier Mineral Foundation

I love the amazing coverage and glow that the Laura Mercier Mineral Foundation gives. I gave my favorite powder to a very seriously matte guy last year (Benefit’s Hello Flawless which, I still love) so I wanted to shake it up a bit. This one is killer.

Bronzer-

IMG_4178
Benefit Hoola

This year I was all about the matte bronzer and, Benefit Hoola is just fabulous. Its not orange or red, its just a beautiful bronze that will work for most light to medium-dark skin tones.

Blush-

IMG_1729
Clinique Cheek Pops

The formula I was most impressed by this year was the Clinique Cheek Pops. They are killer. They look amazing on the skin and have a good variation of colors (hopefully they will bring out more). Now you know me, I can’t just do one blush pick.

IMG_4142
NARS Lovejoy

My most worn blush of the year has to be NARS Lovejoy. Its just the perfect color in a stellar formula. Whats not to love?

IMG_1483
Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Palette

I wasn’t crazy about the Ambient Lighting Blush formula this year but this palette has won me over. Its perfect for travel (which was a big thing for me this year) and the color Luminous Flush is just a gorgeous pink. Love it.

Eye Primer-

IMG_2886
NARS Smudge Proof Shadow Base

If you have oily lids and shadow does not last on you, you need the NARS Smudge Proof Shadow Base. Nothing else keeps my shadows and and not-creasing all day.

Eyeshadow-

IMG_4480
NARS God Created Woman Palette

Another category that will have more than one entry (I hope you don’t mind). But my most used palette has to be the NARS God Created Woman palette, it was re-released this year so it totally counts as a 2014 item (right!? right).

IMG_5187
NARS Dual Intensity Shadows
IMG_0729
Ardency Inn Modster Shadow

 

The big thing this year was metallic shadows. The two formulas that blew me away were the NARS Dual Intensity Shadows and the Ardency Inn Modster Manuka Honey Shadows.

IMG_3733
YSL Couture Palette is 02

 

The best new formula of shadows this year was the new YSL shadows. These are killer and I love them! A great formula if you want something a bit high end. Okay I’m done. Promise.

Liner-

IMG_4045
Kat Von D Tattoo Trooper Liquid Liner

The Kat Von D Tattoo liquid liner in Trooper (the one with the brush tip). Its just amazing. I also like her felt tip version, but the brush tip takes the cake.

Mascara-

IMG_4464
Marc Jacobs O!Mega

Love this stuff. Its great. Gives me volume and length without the clumps. I also loved the Loreal Voluminous Butterfly if you want a drugstore option (its great too).

Brows-

IMG_6091
Hourglass Arch

This pencil makes it quick and easy to do my brows (another great for travel option). Its also super ashy which is clutch.

Lips-

IMG_1794
Laura Mercier Lip Liner and Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector

You guys know I have always been a big lip liner lover and I discovered the Laura Mercier liners this past year. They are amazing and are now my favorite liner formula. To keep thing from being too dry I have been all about the Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfectors (just like last year).

Tools-

IMG_1459
Shiseido Lash Curlers

 

IMG_9049
Wayne Goss Brushes

My last two favorites are my lash curlers (if you have almond eyes the Shiseido curlers are fabulous) and my Wayne Goss brushes. If you are looking to get into luxury brushes, the Wayne Goss brushes are amazing.

That wraps me up, please let me know if you want to see other categories (like skin care, hair etc) but I figured makeup would be the most fun.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “2014 Beauty Favorites

  1. We have so many favorites in common (although I discovered some of them before last year)! Love the Hourglass primer, Clinique Cheek Pops, Hourglass brow pencil, and WG brushes! I’ve been trying different brow stuff, but it seems like nothing has officially replaced Hourglass Soft Brunette yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

