Fall 2014 Trends – Metallics, Brows, Contour, Matte Skin

Earlier last week I was chatting with my aunt (who is one of my makeup inspirations) and she asked me what I thought the big trends would be this fall. I thought it was a great topic, so here are my picks.

IMG_0581
Bold Brows

Bold brows have been in for some time now and, they aren’t going anywhere this fall. Big is still in. I find the easiest and fastest way to fill mine in are a pencil (like the Hourglass Arch or the Anastasia Brow Wiz), but I am also a huge fan of the MUFE Aqua Brow which is more of a liquid/gel. Powders are a great option of you are going for a softer look.

IMG_0586
Matte Skin

All about the matte skin this fall. I feel like more-matte always comes back in style around this time of year, but this fall it seems especially prevalent. Almost all the big foundation players (YSL, Laura Mercier, Chanel) have come out with matte foundations recently. I am a long time lover of Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet+, but I also enjoy the Laura Mercier Smooth Finish if you want something with a lighter texture.

IMG_0592
Metallic Plum Eyes

Metallics are here in a big way this fall. Shadows in bright and glistening metallic shades are hitting the shelves big time (my favorite release of this kind being the NARS Dual Intensity Shadows but also check out the Ardency Inn Modster Pigments). More than just metallic, plum metallics will be big on the eyes (and they are a bit fun and unexpected without being too colorful).

IMG_0597
All the Contour

Contouring is still a big trend. Put down your bronzer and pick up your contour this fall. This trend is in full swing with contour palettes coming out in droves (Smashbox and Anastasia have joined the party recently in powder, for cream look to Becca).

What do you guys think? Any big trends you see coming our way this fall?

6 thoughts on “Fall 2014 Trends – Metallics, Brows, Contour, Matte Skin

  1. I really liked this post. I always love your product picks because I have oily skin too and your use of color is tasteful and pretty.
    As for the MUFE Matte foundation, do you think this would be a good pick for someone with oily skin and aging skin? I’m in my early30s. Some matte products look cakey and well, just not good on my skin now that I’m a bit older. I know you’ve mentioned this foundation before and I’m thinking of trying it. Is it full coverage?
    I’m planning to stop by Sephora and maybe Ulta in the next few days, I’m going to get the MUFE if you think its suitable for someone my age; I’m also going to grab some more of the NARS shadows and maybe the NARS tinted moisturizer. Thanks for the great post.

    Like

    1. Thank you Amanda! I find the MUFE Mat Velvet+ can be really thinned out, so it doesn’t looks cakey if you apply it with fingers or a damp sponge. I find the coverage between medium and full, and its buildable. I would also try some Cover FX if you are looking for full coverage, they have good stuff.

      Sounds like a great future haul! Let me know if you get anything you love.

      Like

Leave a Reply

