Oh Be Still My Beating Heart! The Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette

IMG_7970
Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette

I have been traveling a lot lately for work, as an example I spent about half of August not at home. Due to the very large amount of time I have been spending on the road, this do-it-all wonder palette has been kind of a life saver. I have been using it a ton since its has everything you need with great quality products. Whats not to love?

IMG_9326
the cheek products swatched from the left: blush, bronzer and, highlighter

The cheek products are awesome. A great matte bronzer (not too orange, but not grey), a beautiful matte rosy blush (its perfectly neutral while still brightening and lifting the face) and, a really lovely champagne highlighter to add some glow. All the products have great textures, none are powdery and all blend nicely. They also last all day on my skin. The look you get is just naturally beautiful and understated. Its fabulous.

IMG_9339
the purple shadows

The eyeshadows also cover all the bases but without being boring. Half the palette has purple shades which are flattering on all skin tones but also not brown or black or grey. Its a bit of something else, and its just lovely. I find the shadows smooth, easy to blend and last all day over a primer (I am never without primer, so I can’t speak to the wear without). I wish the pale pink shade was just a bit lighter so I could use it as an under brown matte highlight, but thats okay, its pretty all over the lid for a matte eye. The middle taupe/purple is a bit sheeny, which is very pretty and the dark eggplant shade (stunning mind you) is shimmery.

IMG_9352
the brown eyeshadow side

The other three shadows fall under the standard great-to-have brown shades. The gold is basically metallic (its gorgeous on). Its very brightening and I always use it after a long day. The other two browns are both matte. A good mid tone brown and a darker espresso shade. These are both great and, as far as I am concerned, pretty necessary for day-to-day eyeshadow palette wear. Notice there are enough matte shades here to have an all matte eye and, that the highlighter shade works as a great champagne eyeshadow (you’ve got it all in here people).

You will notice I have not mentioned any names for these shades. They have names, but they came on a clear over sheet (I hate when brands do that) that I threw out a long time ago. Sorry that I haven’t mentioned them, but I find the colors all very different so the description of the shade hopefully worked. Plus its not like the name is on the palette so you’d know which shade I was talking about anyway (why didn’t they just print them on the plastic!? Gah).

IMG_9424
wearing the Tarte Rainforest After Dark Palette

Moral of the story (vents on clear over sheet aside) this is an amazing palette. Even if you never travel, ever. Its fabulous. I can find no fault in the formulas. The colors are just amazing standbys with enough color to keep it from being boring. Its a win. If you like the colors, enjoy long wearing, blendable and, pigmented color cosmetics then its worth a swatch at least.

You can get this palette online, at Sephora and, Ulta for $38. It is limited edition as part of the Tarte fall collection, so head to a counter near you soon if you want it.

The rundown: A+ (this is the BOMB)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Oh Be Still My Beating Heart! The Tarte Rainforest After Dark Colored Clay Eye & Cheek Palette

  1. Natalie, I have this palette too! I saw a preview of it right before it was released and I fell in love with the look of the packaging. The snake! I was a little disappointed to find out it’s just plastic (it doesn’t feel very luxe) but I still absolutely love this thing! I’m such a freak about it I don’t use the makeup because I want it to last forever. However, after reading your thoughts on it I think I’m going to have to succumb to the temptation. Girl, I love your posts. I’m still so jello about how you do your eyes. Best blending and flicks ever.

    Like

    1. It’s such an amazing palette! I just remind myself that there will be more, so if I use this up I will find something else to love. Thank you so much! I’m going to try and do a video of my eye makeup soon (hopefully it’s not a hot mess).

      Like

  2. That would be awesome and I’m sure it will be great! Your passion will come through and that’s really the most important thing ya know πŸ™‚ can’t wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

