NARSissist Smokey Eye Compact is Rocking my Eyeshadow Crazed World

IMG_7480
NARSissist Smokey Eye Compact Kit

I wasn’t kidding about those eyeshadow posts people. Here we go. This guy started my current eyeshadow obsession. I didn’t think I was going to get it since I have these shadows in other palettes already (and I mean more than one). But the convenience factor and my current deep desire for eyeshadows pushed me over the edge. I’m glad it did.

IMG_7994
NARS Via Veneto Mini Eyeliner, Madrauge I, Bali, Mekong

These shadows are all very buttery, soft, easy to blend, long wearing and, very pigmented. I liked the pigment level in the NARSissist palette (the big one from earlier this year) since you could build the darker shadows more easily. In this kit you have to be careful, almost like with Exhibit A blush, so you don’t end up looking like someone punched you in the eye. Pigment is a good thing, mind you, I just wanted to mention that these are not at the same pigment level as in the big NARSissist palette.

IMG_7879
an eye look using the NARSissist Smokey Eye Compact. Madrauge I all over the lid and under the brow bone. Bali in the crease and under the lower lash line. Mekong on the outer corner. Via Veneto liner in the outer 1/3 of the lower waterline

The kit includes Madrauge I (matte cream), Bali (neutral taupe) and, Mekong (bitter brown with shimmer that doesn’t really show up on the lid) ย eyeshadows. Alone these create a great classic smokey eye, as in black-grey smokey eye. These shadows are not warm but also not very cool. They fall very neutral, so they will flatter most all skintones. There is also a mini Via Veneto Larger Than Life Eyeliner which I love. I find these eyeliners last the longest for me on my waterlines. There is also a mini eyeshadow brush from their new line of brushes. Its an angled flat top guy. Honestly, its scratchy. I wouldn’t use it on my eyes if I had a preference, but I am also very picky about soft brushes and my eye area (the skin there is so sensitive!). But I could see it used for other things, like blending concealer or a noseย contour, small brushes can be used in so many ways.

IMG_7909
wearing the NARSissist Smokey Eye Compact on my eyes

I really do love this set. I think it creates a seriously stunning smokey eye and, if you don’t mind that the brush is kind of a throw away, it helps. I also love how small and convenient it is. You can add in a pretty single shadow like, one of the Dual Intensity shadows or Cyprus, and then use this kit with it and get a great eye look every time. Actually, thats what I’ve been doing a ton lately. The compact just has every basic shadow I need on the day-to-day, so its easy to just grab the one palette and have glam eyes in a flash. Plus they are such great quality shadows, its just killer. For the eye look I have on in that picture up there, no fallout and all day no-crease wear. Love it!

You can get this eye kit at NARS counters and online for $59.

The rundown: A+

2 thoughts on “NARSissist Smokey Eye Compact is Rocking my Eyeshadow Crazed World

Leave a Reply

