NARS Night Caller Collection – Unlawful Blush Breaks All the Rules

IMG_7195
NARS Unlawful Blush

The NARS fall 2014 collection is now among us (thank goodness). I love me some NARS and I love fall/winter makeup. I don’t know what it is, but the colors of spring and summer are just not as exciting for me. Anyway, this is the lone blush in the fall collection and its a muted peachy/pink with silver shimmer and some glitter (we’ll get to the glitter later).

IMG_7509
NARS Unlawful Swatched on my NC/NW20 Skin

The color is really pretty. I like the silver shimmer in since its very different for me (I’m a more warm toned everything kind of girl). The color is kind of perfect for fall, it will pair beautifully with smokey eyes and its a really beautiful, muted, apricot/peach (can you tell I’m having a hard time describing this color?). It lasted all day and the color blends beautifully on the skin (as expected).

IMG_7579
wearing NARS Unlawful blush

Okay, time to talk about that glitter. There is glitter in this blush. Silver glitter. Chunky glitter. I am not a glitter person. I have oily skin and large pores and all that good stuff that does not go well with glitter. Glitter and I are not friends. Somehow, and I honestly don’t know how, most of this glitter doesn’t make it to my face. I’ve been using a less dense blush brush lately (the Wayne Goss 14, its true love people) and tap I it off (like I would normally) and I guess that shakes most of the glitter loose. On the skin, I don’t see much of the glitter going on. But if you have a strong aversion to glitter, I would stay away. You can see in the swatch, the glitter doesn’t really transfer well (thank goodness) but that will also vary with application techniques.

I find this blush gives a beautiful glow to the skin and I love the color. I find it unique but still very wearable and it just reminds me of fall. Its like cider colored or light red/yellow leave colored. I love it. Personally, I find the glitter to not be a big issue (I was very scared when I first saw those buggers and this is the first blush with glitter I have not despised) but I would suggest an in person look if that worries you.

You can get this blush at NARS counters, online and, at Sephora for $30.

The rundown: A- (that glitter man, I could do without it)

6 thoughts on “NARS Night Caller Collection – Unlawful Blush Breaks All the Rules

  1. Looks gorgeous! and I’m with you on the glitter issue.. Not keen on looking like Edward Cullen in sunlight..that’s a no go. But glad to hear it doesnt come up on the skin anyway 🙂 x

    Like

  2. Love your new layout!
    For the bush, I am excited for this 🙂 I have to see it in person to make a decision though…not too much of a fan of giltter neither…but this colour! Would you say its close to Deep Throat? 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Nina! I had such a hard time finding a layout I liked. I hope you like it! The glitter is worrisome. The color is almost like a mix of Deep Throat and Torrid, but then muted. The color is just stunning.

      Like

      1. Thanks for the reply! A mix of Deep Throat and Torrid sounds beautiful… 🙂 but then, the glitter. But oh well, I might get in anyway 🙂

        Like

      2. Your’e welcome! It would be good if you could swatch it or try it on before you invest (or at least buy it from somewhere that takes returns). Glitter is hard to gauge.

        Like

Leave a Reply

