My Favorite Base Products – Summer and Oily Style

IMG_6774
from the left: MUFE Mat Velvet+, Tarte Airbrush Foundation, MUFE Full Cover Concealer, Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage, Estee Lauder Double Wear Light

Its hot out. I have oily skin. These two things do not go well together. I have discussed all of these products on this blog before, but I wanted to do a little roundup since I know oily skin and summer can be difficult. These guys all kill it. They are just so good.

Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet+ Foundation. This is in fact my holy grail foundation. Its is matte. It also has great coverage (for all those breakouts summer and oil bring). I find a thin layer of this is a great starting point for my base. Its long wearing, so everything I throw on top lasts really nicely as well. This guy keeps oil back for a good 5 hours for me, which is quite the impressive feat.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Airbrush Foundation. I did a whole series on powder foundations (this is but one of the many I recommend). Long story short, I love powder foundations in the summer since they just soak up all that oily goodness. This one is pretty good (and not as matte as some others, so I wanted to include it). Basically, powder foundation is a great way to go. This is one is great.

Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer. I love this stuff, its water proof so it lasts very well on the skin. I tend to only use this around my face (not under my eyes). I find it sets down quite matte and the liquid texture helps it blend in super nicely.

Laura Mericer Secret Camouflage. This stuff is just the best. Its super full coverage and amazingly long lasting (I find it lasts much longer than the MUFE Full Cover). The thicker texture means it can look cakey or built up on the skin if you are not careful with the blending. But there is really no substitute. This is the stuff.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Light. This is very liquidy and thin, so it feels really great on the skin in the summer. I find the coverage is actually very impressive for the texture (a good light to medium and buildable) plus it does not budge. Seriously, it lasts all day. I find my oil just kind of works its way over this (gross description I know, sorry!) but it does not break down the product or remove it (amaaaaazing!). This is another base I like to use since everything I layer over it gets a boost on the lasting power. This is also not super matte or drying, just long lasting, so it would work great for normal or even dry skin as well.

Have you tried any of these? What base products are you loving this summer?

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Base Products – Summer and Oily Style

  1. Great roundup! Wish I could try Makeup Forever stuff here. I also have very oily skin in the summer, though it’s slightly better than when I was your age! I used to be an ELDW fan too back in the day. (The flashback you can see on those old pictures! LOL).
    I am using Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Powder Foundation on very hot days (ie greaseball central deluxe) and Chantecaille Just Skin/ Nars Radiant Creamy Tinted Moisturiser on cool days (you won’t have those in the US in summer LOL). The latter is glowy glowy but I don’t mind some glow in the summer. I blot this one from time to time but don’t set with powder. A bit of dew is unavoidable for me and I find that embracing it to a certain extent leads to better results than overmattifying and ending up with super powdery cake.
    Another good foundation for oily summer skin is Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet. Unfortunately the shade I have is currently somewhat too light.

    Like

    1. I agree on embracing the glow a bit. It keeps me from going crazy throughout the day since I know I can’t stop it. I really want to try a Chanel foundation, thanks for the rec! Thank you Bella!

      Like

Leave a Reply

