The Perfect Long Lasting Dewy Base

IMG_0613
Hourglass Veil Primer, NARS Radiant Creamy Canceler, Benefit Hello Flawless Powder Foundation

A long lasting dewy base is kind of like my white whale of makeup. It is so hard to get right and, my oily skin doesn’t really help matters. Don’t get me wrong, I love a matte look, but a dewy foundation look can be really beautiful. I recently stumbled across my perfect combination to get a long lasting (10+ hours) dewy foundation look, even with my oily skin.

First I prime my face, which is a super important step if I want my foundation to hang around past the 5-6 hour mark in my t-zone. I use the Hourglass Veil Primer, but use whatever works for you.

Next I add a concealer just where I need it. I find that when I am going to be wearing makeup for a long time, I don’t want it to feel heavy or oppressive. Because of that I like to use a product with coverage just where I need it. I love this concealer since it is dewy without being sparkly or glittery (this is not Twilight people). This concealer also blends perfectly into the skin and can be used both on the face and under the eyes, so its super quick and easy.

Next I set all my concealer with powder, another important step for staying power. I also take some powder and buff it onto my skin where there is no concealer. This adds some coverage everywhere and evens out the color and tone of your skin. I love this powder, and I don’t find it heavy on the skin, cakey, or that it tones down the dewy nature of the concealer either. Perfect.

I find that this combination lasts me all day long, which is 10-12 hours for me. I am all about long lasting makeup since I have long work days and hate to touch up. Its such a drag. One of my biggest tips for long lasting makeup is to not touch your face. I know I always want to put my chin in my hand or my cheek or something but the less you touch the longer makeup will last.

What foundation combination have you been loving lately? Any long wearing tips?

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Long Lasting Dewy Base

  1. I love the Hourglass primer too!! I just have a small bottle that i got with the Ambient Lighting Palette and I use it for special occasions. For everyday use I have the Nars Pore and line eraser or something? The new one; I just apply it on the T-zone. I’ve been using Tom Ford traceless Foundation lately, the liquid everywhere and the stick only where I need extra coverage. I set it with Chanel poudre universelle pressed powder; a new-to-me- discovery that I love. Easier to take along than the humungous loose version. My concealer…I’d been using Nars Radiant Creamy ever since it launched, but the shade I have doesn’t currently work for my light winter skin. So I’ve been alternating Diorskin Nude concealer and Laura Mercier Secret concealer under eyes, secret camouflage on the face.
    What a ramble!! I’ve just had quite the search for a new base lately and feel chatty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

