I Made a MAC Palette: Brown/Red Smokey Eye

IMG_9541
clockwise from the top left: Blanc Type, Bamboo, Swiss Chocolate, Twinks

You may have been reading this blog when I went through my obsession with reddish browns, well, the love as not passed. I have been looking around for more of these amazing shadows and just couldn’t find any palettes pre-made that I liked. So I went to MAC (oh how many sentences could start like that).

IMG_9590
from the left: Twinks, Swiss Chocolate, Bamboo, Blanc Type

I wanted a reddish/brown palette that I could take from day to night, and even do an all matte eye with. After swatching a ton of the amazing shades MAC carries (so many wonderful red hued browns!) I picked Swiss Chocolate and Twinks as my main men. Bamboo is for crease work, and is light enough to show up on my skin. Blanc Type is a great under brow/inner corner highlight shade and isn’t too stark white (which I always think looks harsh). All of the shades are matte except for Twinks, which has a bit of shimmer in it.

IMG_9731
a look using all the shadows

For the look above I used Twinks all over the lid, Swiss Chocolate in the outer-v and crease with Bamboo to blend the whole crease out and Blanc Type under my brow bone. This palette really hit the spot for my red/brown obsession. The shadows are amazing quality, and I think my favorite of the bunch would have to be Swiss Chocolate, its just stunning! I love using it for a matte smokey eye look with just Bamboo and Blanc Type.

IMG_9830
wearing my MAC quad

If you have any colors, or look you can’t seem to find in pre-made palettes, I would highly recommend making your own 4-pan at MAC. Its a bit more expensive than some other options, but the whole palette and the four shadows cost me $48. I think you get great quality, and you are sure to love what you put together, so I found it worth it. Have you ever made a palette of your own from MAC shadows? Which are your favorites (I’m already jonesing to go get some more)?

IMG_9756
in some cooler lighting
Leave a Reply

