New Bits from L’Oreal

I was at my local CVS last week and saw a new display up for L’Oreal. I ended up grabbing the new Voluminous Butterfly mascara and the Super Slim Liner.

IMG_2990
L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Mascara

First, this mascara has kind of been like the white whale of the drugstore for a few weeks. Everyone was talking about it, but no one could find it yet. Serious hype people. Based on this hype, when I saw it, I had to get it. I got it in black, because I have dark hair and I’m honestly all about the black mascara.

IMG_3143
wearing Voluminous Butterfly Mascara

I have a deep love for the L’Oreal Voluminous Full Definition (its my favorite mascara, hands down) so I was really excited about this offering (plus all the hype, don’t forget the hype!). This wand was a curved tip to catch the outermost lashes and wing them out, just like a butterfly’s wings.

IMG_2991
the wicked wing

I really love the brush, its a plastic brush (which isn’t my favorite) but those little spikes really keep your lashes separated while the formula (true to the voluminous line) is super volumizing. I did not find this gave me very much length, but that isn’t what I look for in a mascara. It also lasts nicely all day, no flaking or smudging here. I love a great volumizing formula, and this one delivers. I’m a huge fan, and I think that brush is just wicked cool. It does grab my outer lashes, and I think it does what it says (which is just awesome).

Secondly, the Super Slim Liner is meant to be a more precise take on felt tip liquid liners.

IMG_2989
L’Oreal Infallible Super Slim Liquid Liner

This liner has a long tip, which comes to a super fine point. It makes the application a little trickier than my favorite liner (the Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen, serious love) since the long nib is a bit harder to control. When I’m channeling Mulan and swipe in long, neat strokes along my lash line it looks the best. The grip reminds of pencils from highschool, and is a cute feature. I don’t find it really changes the way I hold it, or apply, but its a nice touch. The top doesn’t click/catch on, so sometimes I do worry that its not closed and is going to dry out, which is kind of a pain.

IMG_3148
swatches on my NC/NW20 skin

The liner is very pigmented (again, I went for black) which is great. When liquid liners are too liquidy I have to go back over the lines to get opaque color, and thats just annoying people.

Overall, these are both serious winners, especially when you want to look like a butterfly named Mulan. You can get both at your local drugstore for about $8 a peice (prices may vary based on store and location).

The rundown: As all around

2 thoughts on “New Bits from L’Oreal

Leave a Reply

