Hourglass Visionaire Eyeshadow Duo Makes the Perfect Purple Smokey Eye

IMG_2376
Hourglass Visionaire Duo in Exhibition

I love purple eyeshadows. They are considered by many as “the other neutral”, and I can see why. These shades looks good on everyone. This duo comes with a nice lavender and a darker purple which has some red pearl to it (its beautiful! Not zombie-like).

IMG_2379
swatches on my NC/NW 20 skin

I love this set of purples because both are more muted, so neither of these are super bright purples. These have strong grey/black undertones which keeps them more wearable (at least in my opinion). They have no fall out to speak of (even the dark shade is well behaved), are creamy, pigmented, and they blend like a dream! The formula of these guys is amazing.

IMG_2364
wearing Hourglass’s duo in Exhibition

So, this duo has great, wearable purple colors and the formula is amazing. Serious all over winner. I wore this duo as a smokey purple eye to go out recently (I love purple/plummy smokey eyes for fall). I put the darker shade all over my lids (but not into the crease). Then I took the lighter, lilac shade and used it to blend out my crease and soften the look. You can pull the darker shade below your lower lashes, but I always find that makes me look tired, so I don’t. Thats it! Easy smokey eye.

IMG_2362I also love wearing this duo for everyday. Then I use the lighter lilac all over the lid and a very small amount of the dark purple (both of these are super pigmented, careful!) in the crease and outer corner. Since they are both muted purples, I don’t like a crazy lady while at work, but I still get the fun of wearing something thats a color during the day.

You can get this duo at Sephora andΒ www.hourglasscosmetics.com for $38.

The rundown: A+

2 thoughts on “Hourglass Visionaire Eyeshadow Duo Makes the Perfect Purple Smokey Eye

    1. I find that if I don’t use them under my eyes, I’m fine. Plus a line (even a thin line of brown pencil liner) along a lash line to separate the color from the eye will diminish the effect even more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

