Makeup Starter Kit

Hi!!

This is going to be a list of what I think of as all the basics. I have oily skin, so this is based on that (I dont know how foundations sit on dry or normal skin, as I dont have those things). This is also not a drugstore only list, if I was building my everyday makeup again from scratch I would want to have things that are truly great quality. Not just cheap (not that great makeup can’t be found at the drugstore, it can, but sometimes you get what you pay for and there is no way around it). I guess you could call this my staples, or favorite products, or most used products. I think everything on this list is just amazing!

Primer – Becca Ever Matte. Nuf said.

Foundation – Oily skin is saved by Make Up For Ever’s Matte Velvet Plus foundation. It comes in a squeeze bottle and in a wide array of colors.  I love the easy medium but buildable coverage and it soaks up oil throughout the day, which is a serious must.

Concealer – Surprisingly this would have to be another Make Up For Ever product. The Full Cover concealer has the same great color range and this stuff DOES NOT BUDGE. Its waterproof, sweatproof and transfer proof. You can go swimming, crying, off-roading in this stuff and it will stay with you, on your oily, acne covered face. This also doesn’t cling to dry areas around my pimples (after a night of going crazy with the zit cream) and the coverage is as advertised, you only need a tiny tiny amount to cover just about anything,

Powder – I am a big user of powder. I use it everyday. If you have dry or normal skin this may not be as huge a part of your routine, but a lot of my days include just concealer and powder. I never leave home without a good powder. My favorite is Benefit’s Hello Flawless. This is a compact, which I much prefer to loose powder which I think is just really messy (but Im also a serious clutz).

Bronzer – This is going to be really obvious, so forgive me. NARS Laguna. Its beautiful.

Blush – My favorites are NARS blushes. My absolute favorite is Amour. But go and try some on, they are all beautiful.

Eye Primer – As a oily mess, all kinds of primer are in use on my face. My favorite is the NARS Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base.

Eyeshadow – My all time favorite palette is the Urban Decay Naked palette, but if you are looking for one eyeshadow to rule them all look no further than NARS Galapagos, a shimmery golden brown.

Eyeliner – I use liquid liner, and I dont have a great deal of experience with other eyeliner mediums (gel, pencil). My favorite is the Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen. This stuff is easy to put on and, excluding water interference, doesn’t go nowhere.

Undereye Concealer – I am of the firm belief that the concealer you put on your face and the one you put under your eyes should be different. My favorites in this category are a tie. Neutrogena Healthy Skin Brightening Eye Perfector and Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles. They are both awesome. Feel free to put them on your face.

Mascara – Loreal Voluminous Full Definition. Its good stuff.

Lips – I usually use a chapstick or a lipstick. Chapstick brand chapstick is amazing (cherry chapstick is in fact the best, and many thanks to my good friend Justine who introduced me). Lipstick and lipgloss wise, any MAC lipstick/gloss is great in my book.

Brows – Most days I don’t bother with these guys, I usually just brush them to get the foundation/concealer out of them. But I am a big fan of all of Anastasia’s products. Her Brow Wiz and powder are some of my faves.

I hope this list wasn’t too long (ha, I know it was). I was being comprehensive (now I’m just trying to make myself feel better). Oh well, I love makeup, its not a secret.

Leave a Reply

