So…Your Nails are Wrecked

IMG_1988
nail saviors

I don’t know about you guys, but I have been wearing a lot of polish lately. When I am wearing polish all the time, my nails get mega weak. This is due to the lack of air and nutrients your nails can get while that beautiful polish is covering them. When my nails get weak, chippy and peely (all technical terms mind you) I reach for the nail saviors above.

First I use a nail strengthening polish, the one I have been loving lately is the Sally Hansen Miracle Cure. I really think it works. You add a coat every other day and it has nutrients and minerals to help strength the nail. I then use a cuticle oil to help improve nail strength. Your cuticles are the cells that end up growing into your nails, so improving their health will improve the health of your future nail. I love the Essie Apricot Oil since it smells amazing and isn’t sticky or tacky.

Be sure to keep your hands moisturized to help prevent weak nails as well. Hand creams do have more nourishing oils than body lotions, so having a good one at your desk at work or in your hand bag is great. I really really love the Nivea Smooth Indulgence Hand Cream, its amazing and you can get it at the drugstore. It soaks in quickly, which is so important since I hate having sticky hands. It is also very very moisturizing. Its great. I find mine at CVS, but I know it can be hard to get a hold of sometimes.

When I have weak nails, besides caring for them, I like to cut them short so they don’t catch on anything and break. I use nail clippers first and then use a file to clean them up and shape them. Glass nail files are actually much more healthy for your nails and will prevent flaking. But if you file in just one direction it is more gentle on your nails as well.

Do you guys have any products you swear by when your nails need some TLC?

Leave a Reply

