IMG_9933

NARS Kauai Eyeshadow Duo

I don’t know what it is, but this last week has been such a good makeup week. I am finding all these really nice products. I dunno, this kind of stuff makes me happy. Anyway, I hope your week has been as good as mine, and I don’t just mean in finding makeup you really like.

Anyway, back to the eyeshadow duo. NARS Kauai eyeshadow duo came out as part of the Spring ’14 collection, but I believe (and hope dearly) is becoming part of the permanent range as well. The duo is a “gold lame and iridescent smokey orchid”. Aka, freaking gorgeous.

IMG_9978

NARS Kauai Duo, Gold Lame on the top and Iridescent Smokey Orchid on the bottom

The colors of this duo drew me in, but the amazingly smooth and pigmented formulas are what keep this duo in my heart. Both the shadows are amazingly creamy, so creamy in fact I thought that the Gold Lame one might actually be a cream. No joke. They are both also richly pigmented. I am currently obsessed with the Gold Lame eyeshadow. Its absolutely stunning. It has some bigger glitter in it, but also an overall sheen. Plus the color is unique and gorgeous. I applied it all over my lid and it has that “wet” look to it. I swoon. I also saw minimal to no fall out. Just amazing.

IMG_0001

wearing the Gold Lame from the Kauai Duo on my lid

The Gold Lame color makes me think of Egyptian makeup, I don’t know why, I think the color just gives me that vibe. I then applied the Iridescent Smokey Orchid to my lower lash lines (I was going out for coffee with a friend, don’t need a full on purple smokey eye for that, sadly). I think it would be super stunning all over the lid as well, a kind of bright, fun summer smokey eye.

IMG_0131

wearing NARS Kauai Duo on my eyes

I hope you can tell in the pictures, but I put some of the Gold Lame in my inner corners, and bam man! They look almost molten. I’m just in love. The shadows wore well for me over a primer, so about 5-6 hours without creasing which is the best I get with my Urban Decay Primer Potion (I’m going to get the NARS Pro Prime next, which is better on my oily lids). They also blend beautifully, and they are both colors that change a little in different lighting. I barely used any on my lids, since the pigment is so intense with these, err on the side of caution the first time you use them.

IMG_0189

wearing the Iridescent Smokey Orchid on my lower lashlines

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this duo. If you like the colors, I strongly urge you to go get it. You can get this at NARS counters, at Sephora or online for $35.

The rundown: A+

