Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette is a Sweet Surprise

IMG_8656
Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette

This palette had me at “the shadows smell like chocolate”. Personally, I haven’t had the greatest experience with Too Faced shadows which tend to have a lot of fall out on me, so I held off. After reading many reviews about how fabulous this palette is, I ended up getting it. Lets be honest, it was inevitable. It smells like chocolate people! Not so much that its sickeningly sweet or too much early in the morning before work. But just enough to be fun, and the smell doesn’t hang around either, which I appreciate.

IMG_9204
the shadows inside

Both the outside and inside of the palette look like a chocolate bar. I love that the two larger pans are a matte cream and a shimmery pink/champagne. They will be getting a ton of use, so it was a great design idea to make them larger. I love that this palette has a whole slew of matte shades. Not just one or two, but 6. Six. Amazing. Overall, it looks like Too Faced really put a lot of thought into the colors in this palette. It shows in the large number of mattes, the good mix of cool and warm shades and the truly gorgeous easy brown shades.

IMG_9226
swatches of the top row, from the left: Gilded Ganache, White Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Black Forest Truffle, Triple Fudge
IMG_9236
swatches of the second row, from the left: Salted Caramel, Marzipan, Semi-Sweet, Strawberry Bon Bon, Candied Violet, Amaretto
IMG_9238
swatches of the bottom row, from the left: Hazelnut, Creme Brulee, Haute Chocolate, Cherry Cordial, Champagne Truffle

I also love how this palette has both cool and warm tones. The left half of the palette is decidedly warm while the right side of the palette is where cool tones can be found. The quality and pigmentation of these shadows are great. Which I expected. What really surprised me is there isn’t fall out. I didn’t experience any, not even with dark shades like Triple Fudge. I usually see some with Too Faced shadows, and whatever they did to stop it is worth repeating in all future palettes (hopefully its the addition of chocolate, I would love that).

I mentioned that I love the “easy brown shades” what I was referring to are shades like Hazelnut, Amaretto and, Haute Chocolate. You can use any one of these shades all over the lid and then pull it into the crease and by buffing make the shade look more matte. One color eyes people. The bread and butter of early morning work looks.

There are two shadows that I probably won’t use very much, Strawberry Bon Bon is just not my kind of color. A matte pastel pink just isn’t something I reach for. Candied Violet is the only color that I didn’t like the formulation of. It didn’t have good base color pigmentation and the glitter in it is gritty.

Overall, I really love this palette. I think its a great one. If you love neutral palettes, and the colors you see here look appealing to you I would highly recommend this palette. There is real cocoa powder in the shadows, so its a fun, girly palette that is really very well done. Do you have this palette? What do you think of it?

You can get this palette at Too Faced, online and at Sephora for $49.

The rundown: A

2 thoughts on “Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette is a Sweet Surprise

  1. Very pretty shades. Too faced was briefly available in the country where I live, and I swatched a few things, but nothing was pigmented enough to show up on my NC42 skin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

