IMG_7896

holiday packaging

As someone with oily skin, I’ve tried quite a few primers. The main idea here is to prolong the wear time of your makeup, and since my oily skin’s goal in life is to remove my makeup from my face, I like to try these guys out.

Hourglass’s Mineral Veil primer comes in a really beautiful glass tube with a pump at the top (yes!). The primer itself is white, but once it is blended into the face it goes clear. It is also not a silicone based primer, and if you are acne prone like me this is very important. Primers with silicones can clog pores and lead to congested, broken out skin. If you plan to use a primer everyday and have acne prone skin look for primers without silicone. Another one is the Laura Mercier primers.

IMG_7915

Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer

Of the primers I have tried, this one actually works the best. I find with many others that they feel nice, but at the end of the day I don’t think they have really prolonged my makeup. With this primer the end of the day (8-10 hours for me) comes around and my makeup looks noticeable better than it would without.

IMG_7916

Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer Pump

This primer also has SPF 15, which doesn’t hurt. I also haven’t found it to cause foundations I place over it to flashback in photographs. The way this feels on the skin is really unique, my skin feels very soft and smooth after applying but there is no heavy weight or mask like feeling. This primer does control my oil production some, not as well as the Becca Ever Matte (primer made by the gods) but it does a good job. During the winter its a better alternative for me, since my skin calms down some from its summer oil production levels (I could cure the world energy crisis, honest).

IMG_8308

Hourglass Primer on the left and blended some on the right

This is another find that I have to attribute to my amazing mom. She caught on to how amazing this primer is first. After sneaking bursts of it off her I finally invested and got one for myself. This is truly one of the only primers I have found that make a difference in the longevity of my makeup. What do you think of this primer? Have you tried it? Do you have another you swear by?

You can get this primer for $72 for 2 oz (the new jumbo size, which is the best band for your buck) or $52 for the 1 oz (pictured here) at Hourglass cosmetics counters, Sephora and, online.

The rundown: A

