I was at the drugstore the other day and I might have picked up some more of the Maybelline Color Tattoos. After I tried Bad to the Bronze, I kind of got hooked. These cream shadows are creamy, easy to blend, last all day on my oily lids without fading or creasing, and come in some really great colors.

First I picked up a reddish one, since my obsession with red shadows has not yet ebbed, every time I see one, I have to try it out, and for just $8, I had to get it.

IMG_5958

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk #30

I really love Pomegranate Punk, the lines reddish/purple shade. Its shimmery, and can be worn anywhere from sheer to built up for true to color payoff. I wore it as a sheer wash of color below, but I also love using it under shadows from the Naked3 palette to bring out some of the red/pink undertones and deepen the colors.

IMG_6012

wearing Pomegranate Punk

IMG_6006

wearing Pomegranate Punk

Now, reddish eyeshadows aren’t for everyone, but I really do think its wearable when you add some liner. The plummy tones also help, but its pretty red.

IMG_6263

swatches from the left: Just Beige, Nude Pink, Matte Brown and Pomegranate Punk

Maybelline recently came out with a limited edition line of matte color tattoos (why can’t great colors be permanent, why!?). I got three of them (I know, I got a little excited). A yellow/beige, Just Beige, a pinky nude, Nude Pink and a brown called Matte Brown. The names are pretty literal, but the colors are fantastic.

IMG_6236

on top: Matte Brown, on the bottom from the left: Nude Pink and Just Beige

I’m going to be using these as eyeshadow bases, kind of like the MAC paint pots or the Sigma eye bases. These are much cheaper, and I love the formula and wear time. These even out lids while keeping shadows crease free all day. I would wear the brown under smokey eyes, the pink under pinky shadows (Naked3, what up!). Just Beige will probably be my most used, since I’d pop that guy under all shadow looks.

You can get Pomegranate Punk anytime, but the mattes are limited edition, so if you want them, get to a drugstore or Target fast. You can get these for $7-8, based on the CVS I visited, but prices can vary some.

The rundown: A+

PSA: I will be on vacation for the next two weeks, with the holidays the company I work for gives me some time off and its my Dad’s birthday this time of year. I won’t be posting for the time I am on vacation, but please still leave comments! I will try and answer you all anyway. I hope you have a great holiday season, and enjoy your time with friends or family, or both! See you in the new year!