Whats in my Travel Makeup Bag? Business Trip Edition

So I’m on the road for work, and I need to take products I can count on. This makeup and skincare is for a week of travel. I travel for work pretty frequently, and when I get samples or minis of anything, I keep them stashed for just such an occasion.

IMG_6371
the makeup

First, if you have some notice you are going on a trip, head over to Sephora or a department store and get yourself a sample of a foundation, I got the NARS Sheer Glow. You can even take some of yours at home and put it in the little sample pots, or an old eye cream container (I love those things). I always take a mini mascara, and this time it was Benefit They’re Real! which I got as a Sephora birthday gift. I also took a mini of the Hourglass Veil Foundation Primer, which I really love, this mini came with the Hourglass Ambient Lighting palette. The last mini is a Urban Decay Primer Potion, which came with one of their palettes, I think. Minis come from everywhere, seriously.

Full sized products should be chosen carefully, since space is something that can be an issue. I took a NARS palette, this was the one that was exclusive to Nordstrom for the Fall season this year, let me know in the comments if you want details. I always take a NARS palette like this when I travel, its just so easy, you have all sorts of looks with just one compact. I also took the Benefit Hoola bronzer (love it) and my Benefit Hello Flawless powder (which I love more than anything). The concealer I took is the NARS Radiant Creamy concealer, for those days when I don’t want to wear foundation. Next are the Maybelline Under Eye Eraser (great for those travelers under eye circles), the Loreal Super Slim liquid liner, and Benefit Gimme Brow (that product is all I need for brows in one, so its great for travel).

I basically take products I know well, love, and can count on. I always try to take minis or samples, since its just so much easier. I also make sure to take products that lend themselves to many looks, and that are easy (who doesn’t love putting on makeup half asleep in a hotel in another time zone!?). What do you take with you when you travel? Do you stash minis like a squirrel stashes nuts (like I do)?

6 thoughts on “Whats in my Travel Makeup Bag? Business Trip Edition

  1. Helpful advice regarding mini’s!! I mix two shades of Sheer Glow for my perfect colour, so I actually always use it out of a mini pot, saves me having to mix each morning. And for my last 3 days trip away I also took that Nars Voulez-Vlous Coucher Avec Moi, Cesoir palette…it’s total awesomness. Lip pencils in Damage and Dolce Vita, Laguna Bronzer, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette, mascara, pencil and all done :).
    I actually love putting together little edits for trips; it’s one of the times I needn’t feel overwhelemed by my stash ;).

    Like

Leave a Reply

