Urban Decay Naked3 Palette Review and 5 Ways to Wear It

IMG_6266
Naked3 Packaging

As promised last week, here is a full review of new Naked3 palette from Urban Decay. At the end of the posts are 5 looks I created with just this palette, and they range from everyday to smokey, so be sure to check out the bottom of this post if you’re interested.

IMG_6356
Naked3 Palette

This third installment of the Naked series is a rose-gold neutrals palette. I’m going to be honest with you guys, I was not going to get this palette. When I saw the colors during the release I thought this was just not my color palette. I don’t really like pinky shadows, they always seem to make me look tired, or even worse, sick. After reading all the reviews, I ended up wanting to give it a try (many people explicitly said it didn’t make them look tired).

IMG_6350
The Naked3 Pinks

On the left hand side of the palette are the soft, super romantic, pinks. There are two mattes on this side of the palette, Strange and Limit. Strange is a really beautiful and creamy white/pink and Limit is a pink version of Naked from the original Naked palette. Its a soft, light pink that is really great for blending it all out. Dust is very glittery, and comes off chunky, with fallout galore. I would only really wear Dust on special occasions, and I would do my eyes before my base makeup, so the glitter could be cleaned up. Burnout is a really beautiful shimmery pink and Buzz is kind of a darker Burnout. Trick is  a really pretty copper/pink with glitter, and I did get some fallout with this beauty, so just be careful to tap your brush off and press the shadow on.

IMG_6352
The Taupe Side of the Naked3

The second half of the palette is very taupe/cool. All the shadows really do have a pink undertone, which I was actually really impressed with as neither of the previous palettes managed to have this much continuity in the color palette.

Nooner is another matte, and is kind of a darker version of Limit. Its another great crease color. Liar is a gorgeous rosy taupe shade, which I love for all over the lid. Factory is a shimmery midtone brown, this is really the only color I wish was different. I’m glad there is a brown (I love my browns) I just wish this one was darker, just my opinion. Mugshot is another pinky taupe, but it has more gold to it than Liar. Darkside is a satin grey color, its really prefect for darkening up the outer corner whenever using any of these shades. Blackheart is just stunning, I love the darkened plum with the red glitter. The glitter doesn’t come off very strongly on the eye, but if you use a red base, or wet your brush, it will come off better.

IMG_6349
left to right: Blackheart, Darkside, Mugshot, Factory, Liar, Nooner, Trick, Buzz, Limit, Burnout, Dust, Strange

This palette is all new shades, so that whole awkward moment when Naked2 had another Half Baked won’t happen here. The packaging is basically identical to the Naked2, except the tin has a wave pattern stamped into it and its rose gold instead of taupe. The brush that comes with it is actually a really great synthetic domed blending brush (the shader side isn’t my favorite for shadows, but you can use it for concealer or a lip brush).

photo (14)
Naked3 Brush

I took a picture of the Naked3 with the other 2 Naked palettes. You can see this one is the rosy guy on the bottom. It is very different from the first two, but I am also one of those people who thought Naked and Naked2 were very different (the golds and taupes are just different, okay?).

IMG_6342
Naked, Naked2 and Naked3

So, what do I think? After wearing it and trying it out, I am a very surprised lover of this palette. Honestly, I thought I would hate it. But I really don’t. I love it! I can see myself using this palette all the time. I think the Naked is still my most loved, bronzey-gold neutrals are just my cup of tea, but Naked3 might have eclipsed Naked2 (if I were to rank them). I think if you aren’t into pinks, you should still give this a shot (go get it somewhere with a great return policy) the gold in these shadows will surprise you into liking them. I think it will also make the shades flattering on basically all tones, both warm and cool.  Do you have the Naked3? What do you think? You can now get this palette in stores at Sephora or Ulta and online at Urban Decay, Sephora or Ulta for $52.

The rundown: A+ (to my serious shock)

The looks: I’m going to range them from light to dark and list the shadows below the looks. If you have any questions about how I got a look, or if you are looking for some more (you can never have too many) please let me know in the comments!

Look#1: Soft Pinks

IMG_5813
Look#1: Burnout, Limit and Strange for a soft, romantic day look
IMG_5822
Look #1

Looks#2: Rosy Taupes

IMG_5859
Look #2: Liar, Limit, Factory and Strange
IMG_5847
Look #2

Look#3: Bronzed Rose

IMG_5928
Look #3: Trick, Limit, Strange for a bronzey eye
IMG_5922
Look #3

Look#4: Taupes

IMG_6295
Look#4: Mugshot, Factory, Nooner and Strange for a Taupe day look
IMG_6324
Look #4

Look#5: Smokey

IMG_6221
Look#5: Blackheart, Burnout, Limit and Strange for a smokey eye
IMG_6217
Look#5
IMG_6226
Look #5
4 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked3 Palette Review and 5 Ways to Wear It

Leave a Reply

