If you were wondering, Ubangi is a river that flows off of the Congo River in Africa. Fun fact of the day. Anyway, back to the makeup part.

IMG_3872

NARS Eye Paint in Ubangi

NARS describes this as a black with blue shimmer. I got it because I think it looks amazing on brown eyes, and the shimmer makes it really special. I haven’t seen anything else like it. These eye paints come in a range of colors, so if you aren’t into shimmery blue, they have other options.

IMG_4213

NARS Ubangi Eye Paint Swatch

I use this as a gel liner, but it can also be used as a cream eyeshadow or as an eyeshadow base. I wore this out to da-club last weekend as a liner and after hours of dancing like a right fool, it hadn’t budged an inch (a liner after my own heart).

IMG_4216

wearing Ubangi as my liner

This gel liner is a much softer look than my usual black liquid liner, but I still really like it. It doesn’t take any longer to apply, though sometimes I do have to go over it to make it darker. That is only because I love me some black liner, and this whole dark blue thing takes some getting used to.

IMG_4224

the blue shimmer

The blue shimmer in this eye paint is just gorgeous, it really complements us brown eyed girls. The darkness of this color makes it especially flattering for those of use with almost black eyes (what what, represent).

IMG_4222

blue liner and brown eyes, a match made in heaven

I love wearing blue, since it does wonderful things for my eye color, but wearing blue eyeshadow is a little too much (even for me) to wear daily. Blue liner is a great way to accentuate your eye color without looking like Mimi from the Drew Carey Show.

IMG_4205

NARS Eye Paint and a Sigma E05 Brush

I use a Sigma E05 liner brush, since the brush is shaped just like my beloved Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen, application is easy peasy (lemon squeezy, come on, you know you said it in your head too).

You can get this eye paint at NARS counters, online, or at Sephora for $25.

The rundown: A+

 

