Regin Inspired Makeup, or Naturally Beautiful Makeup

IMG_4531
Queen Worthy Makeup

So, I’m kind of obsessed with the new TV show Reign. The actresses in the show wear minimal, beautiful makeup and I just can’t get over it. They look so stunning. Since it is a period drama, its all very natural looking, and I figured this would be a fun look to share with you since its a good go-to gorgeous, put together, everyday look. Or you know, you could wear it and rule a country. Whatever you want.

IMG_4540
Urban Decay Naked Basics, NARS Amour, Benefit Gimmie Brow, Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment in Petal

First, be sure to start with a good base. Since there isn’t much going on your skin is going to be getting some attention. I’m wearing Smashbox BB Cream and Make Up Forever Full Cover Concealer (love these two) for a flawless base. Be sure to spot conceal and set the whole shebang with powder (I used Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light).

IMG_4546
swatches from the left: Faint (this swatch really got away from me), Naked 2, Foxy, NARS Amour, Fresh Petal

Next, add a natural flush to your cheeks, I used NARS Amour, since its my favorite natural looking matte blush. Everyones “natural” flush will be different, so do a few crunches/pushups/jumping jacks and check yourself out in the mirror, what color are your cheeks? Use that color blush. I am going to be using all matte colors in this look, since its more natural and will look more sophisticated in the end.

Then I used three colors from the Naked Basics palette, Foxy under my brow bone, Faint on the lid and Naked 2 in the crease. Here I am trying to copy those amazingly beautiful women who have a naturally darker lid. Those lucky ladies, they don’t even need eyeshadow. I used a darker brown on my lid and blended it out with a midtone brown. Finally, I highlighted under my brow to lift the face. Don’t forget mascara! I kind of loaded some on, since I felt naked without my liner. But you can go more natural, which would make sense with the look anyway.

IMG_4477
its just pretty

I then thickened up my brows using Benefit Gimmie Brow, since I wanted to give my face more shape and definition. Plus, when your’e a queen you don’t have time for brow grooming. Thicken those caterpillars up.

Finally I popped Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment in Petal. This is a really pretty natural pink shade, and it doesn’t have a super glossy finish on the lips. It just looks natural, and gives some extra pigment to your lips.

This is a super quick look, and if its worthy of an actress playing a queen, you’ll rule your 9 am meeting.

6 thoughts on “Regin Inspired Makeup, or Naturally Beautiful Makeup

Leave a Reply

