Guerlain Terracotta Bronzing Powder or a Week in the French Riviera

Happy Monday everyone! Today I’m going to review one of the products I got at the Sephora VIB sale, the Guerlain Terracotta Bronzing Powder in 03.  To put it mildly, these bronzers are wicked expensive. At $51 a powder, they are rough on the wallet. I’ve always eyed them, since they have such amazing packaging and because I’ve always heard they are the best bronzers. With my trusty 20% off, I took the plunge.

IMG_3850
Guerlain Terracotta Bronzing Powder

The packaging is just gorgeous, the rich red/brown compact has the words “Guerlain” and “Terracotta” impressed on it, and when the light hits it you see the brands logo illuminated under the clear topcoat. Just stunning.

IMG_3853
Guerlain Terracotta Bronzing Powder in 03

I got the bronzer in shade 03, but it comes in 7 shades, so you can go and get the shade for you. It has a slight shimmer, but less than my Laguna by NARS. It also has a light fragrance to it which I only smell when Im using the product. I can’t really put my finger on it, but its nothing overwhelming or annoying.

IMG_4184
from the left: Guerlain Terracotta in 03, Benefit Hoola, NARS Laguna

I swatched it next to the other bronzers I own, Benefit Hoola and NARS Laguna. Both my other bronzer loves are much more brown. Guerlain Terracotta has more of a warmth to it, its a bit more orange/red. This makes it a very realistic bronzer, since any bronzed skin comes with a bit of a burn, and it just looks stunning on the cheeks. The powder is really out of this world, it blends literally effortlessly. This bronzer is so amazing (goodness I’m gushing, calm down Natalie, its just a bronzer), I really do see and feel a difference from my others. I was kind of hoping I wouldn’t since this guy is so darn expensive. I haven’t been able to stop wearing it. The way I see it, you can spend $51 on this crazy bronzer and look like you’ve been vacationing in Saint Tropez for a week, or you could actually go and vacation there. Either way, you’re going to look amazing afterwards (though the bronzer does not come with delicious French food).

IMG_4132
Wearing Guerlain Terracotta in 03 and NARS Amour on my cheeks

I wouldn’t contour with this, since it is a bit ruddier and has some (very slight) shimmer. But I’ll be going into contouring more on Thursday, so be sure to come back and check it out if you want some tips.

You can get this bronzer/paycheck eater at Sephora or online for $51.

The rundown: A+ (new bronzer holy grail)

2 thoughts on “Guerlain Terracotta Bronzing Powder or a Week in the French Riviera

Leave a Reply

