Finishing Powder Series: Laura Mercier Invisible Loose Setting Powder

This week I’m going to do a series on finishing powders. As an oily skinned girl, powder is kind of a big deal for me, and I never leave home without it. Lately, the makeup world has come out with a bevy of new finishing powders, and I figured I would sum up the ones I’ve tried in a week long series. By finishing powder I mean a non-skin toned powder used to set your makeup and lock it in place for the day. These powders will not add coverage, but will prolong the wear of your makeup and can even add “effects” to the skin.

IMG_3069

Laura Mercier Invisible Loose Setting Powder

The first of the week is the Laura Mercier Invisible Loose Setting Powder. This is a powder I got as a sample, as I generally don’t buy loose powders. I’m a serious klutz, and I usually avoid loose powders as a rule.

IMG_3070

It has a nifty sifter

Thankfully, this powder has a really nice sifter in the lid. It keeps me from getting this powder everywhere. This powder is truly invisible, this is not one of those powders that says its invisible but then leaves a white cast. Nope.

IMG_3071

unblended on my skin

I found this powder prolonged my makeup wear by a few hours, which is really good for me. It leaves a matte finish on my skin, which is a look I like, with the oily skin and all. I don’t think it would looks dry on normal skin, since its such a lightweight powder. You can’t even feel it on the skin. It leaves skin feeling silky smooth, and blends effortlessly into the skin or makeup beneath.

IMG_3072

blended into my arm

I showed pictures of this powder on my arm with no makeup beneath. Since images of this on my face didn’t really convey much of anything. A close-up on the skin is much more informative as to how the powder looks. I really love this powder, and even though it is loose, I’ll probably be going to Sephora when my sample is done and getting the full size.

You can get this powder at Sephora, or any Laura Mericer counter for $35.

The rundown: A

4 thoughts on “Finishing Powder Series: Laura Mercier Invisible Loose Setting Powder

  1. I love this powder. The Laura Mercier Oil Free Tinted Moisturiser tends to look realy oily on me (yes it does!) when first applied, but this settles things down to a nice glow and makes it last that much longer. I am looking forward to your series.

Leave a Reply

