NARS ♥s Los Angeles Set

IMG_2546
NARS Hearts Los Angeles Set

I have a total weak spot for these NARS kits, like a serious weakness. I also have the NARS ♥s New York set (I love that one, let me know if you want to see a full in-depth review since its still available online). Once I saw this was coming out, I had to get it. Isn’t it beautiful!? Its screams beachy glam to me. Think total beach goddess. It comes with Turkish Delight lip gloss (a nude pink), Trouville nail polish (a baby pink), Deep Throat blush (peachy-pink), Laguna bronzer (brown with a little gold sheen), Abyssinia eyeshadow (shimmering pearl), Etrusque eyeshadow (old gold), Outremer eyeshadow (blue!) and Bali eyeshadow (matte dark brown).

IMG_2547
A close up of the powder products

I found all the products to be really good quality. Sometimes in sets certain products can be disappointing, since they aren’t always made in the same batches as the permanent versions. But all these powders were really nice and blendable. I found some of the colors, like the gold and blue, to be a bit sheer, but I actually really like that. It makes this palette really easy to throw on and look fab, no crazy blending time required.

IMG_2572
Swatches from the left: Laguna Bronzer, Bali, Outremer, Etrusque, Abyssinia, Deep Throat Blush and Turkish Delight Lip Gloss

I used the set to make a blue and gold (go Navy!) smoky eye, but you can just as easily use this set for an easy everyday look using the gold or pearl all over the lid with Laguna in the crease (this is one of my favorite tricks). Since the set doesn’t come with a midtone brown (and I basically NEED to put that in my crease on the daily) I just use a bronzer, like Laguna, problem solved! For my look I used the gold all over the lid, the pearl as a highlight under my brows and in the inner corners of the eyes, Laguna in the crease, the dark brown in the outer corners and the blue under my eyes to smoke it out some. I love using blue on my brown eyes, and this one is sheer enough that you don’t have to spend ages getting it all smoked out. Laguna and Deep Throat are on my cheeks, I really love both this bronzer and blush, and have them both individually. Turkish Delight is on my lips, and the pinky nude goes really nicely with a smokey eye.  Another tip, you can use Abyssinia on your cheek bones as a highlighter, gotta love multi purpose products!

IMG_2676
wearing the NARS Hearts Los Angeles Set

The nail polish is my only miss in the set. I don’t really wear baby pink nail polish, so this wasn’t really ever going to pan out too well, but its a nice formula. I found it pretty sheer (but that is common with paler shades of nail polish). The picture below is with three coats, which I found got me opaque color. Its a pretty color, honest, its just not my thing.

IMG_2584
NARS Trouville Nail Polish

I really love this set! I travel a lot for work and life in general (I go visit my family and boyfriend a lot) so these kinds of sets always get me, you can never have enough travel palettes!! I also think palettes like this are a great value if you want the shades in them, or just want to try out products from a particular brand.

You can get this set online at http://www.narscosmetics.com/ for $75.

The rundown: A

7 thoughts on “NARS ♥s Los Angeles Set

  1. Oooooh! I <3 Nars and I want this set! =) Great pictures of the products and I love the look you made. I had no idea what to do with a blue like that, good thing it's sheer! I think your ideas for the items are really smart. What a great deal for $75. =)

    Like

  2. Wait: they included Etrusque in this palette? Now I am seriously tempted! Etrusque came out when I first started exploring makeup, and I missed out on it not knowing any better! It was LE, so I’m glad to see it back here. OOO so tempted! But I’m with you on the nail polish: not a big fan!

    Like

      1. Same here! I have a real weak spot for antique golds, especially those that flash green (a lot of them flash green on me. It might be my olive undertone)!

        Like

Leave a Reply

