Hi!

IMG_1691

IMG_1694

*eye candy first*

I went away for the long weekend (yay!!). This is the makeup I took with me. These really are my staples, things I know will work well and create a variety of looks. They are also geared at being compact, and mess free (just in case).

For brushes I took the Sigma Travel Kit in Make Me Cool, which has everything you need to do your makeup, and comes in a nifty hard case. When I get where I am going, I use it to hold my brushes on a counter/dresser etc.

I always end up taking a travel palette of some kind, its just so convenient, the one I took this time is the NARS The Happening Palette (its from last year, and it was limited edition, but they have two similar ones out now). They make these pretty often, so if the ones they have now aren’t your style, just wait, they’ll come out with more. I also took the NARS Ride Up to the Moon palette, for more eyeshadow options (review here).

I took a little sample foundation from Sephora, its just so much nicer than taking the whole bottle. This one was a sample of the Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation. Of course, I couldn’t go anywhere without my Becca Ever Matte or my Make Up For Ever Full Cover Concealer. For powder I took my Benefit Hello Flawless, since it can double as a powder foundation and a setting powder. I took a sample of the Bare Minerals pressed powder foundation in a darker color than my skin as a bronzer, its small so its nice to travel with. I got it as a free sample from Sephora, and since its too dark for me I use it as bronzer. I took my Neutrogena Healthy Skin Undereye Brightener for the dark circles you get from travel.

I also took my Urban Decay Primer Potion, a sample of Benefit Badgal mascara,  Revlon Colorstay Liquid Eye Pen (review here) and, a smattering of lip glosses and an Urban Decay 24/7 Liner in Perversion. I also took the Anastasia Brow Wiz, since it s a brush and a pencil in one.

The makeup bag I use when I travel is from a Tarte holiday set from last year. This was the “carried away” set, and the makeup it came with was great, but the bag is so nice and big! It has two zippered compartments, a kind of junky mirror (but it is very big) and, a loop for a brush. It looks so classy and, folds up nice and compact.  There used to be a a Tarte tag over the clasp/button on the front, but I’ve used this some much it fell off (whooops).

IMG_1730

IMG_1731

the compartments!

What do you take when you travel? I love being nosy and peeking into other peoples makeup bags. As you can tell, I’m all about the palettes and samples.

All the best,

Natalie

